Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business. The Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation reports to Parliament through the Postmaster General.

Privy Council Office.—For administrative purposes, the Privy Council Office is regarded as a Department of Government under the Prime Minister. The Clerk of the Privy Council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a Deputy Head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the Public Service. The authority of the Privy Council Office is to be found in Sects. 11 and 130 of the British North America Act, 1867, which constituted a Council to aid and advise in the government of Canada to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, upon the wartime development of cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the Principal Secretary in the Prime Minister's Office was designated Clerk of the Privy Council and First Secretary to the Cabinet. Since 1946, the Privy Council Office has been further re-organized, developed and enlarged and certain administrative functions of the Privy Council Office and the Prime Minister's Office have been closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and economy.

The organization of the Privy Council Office at present consists primarily of the Privy Council Section concerned with the examination of submissions to the Governor in Council, preparation of draft orders and regulations, circulation and filing of approved orders, administration of oaths of office and secrecy, and the duties of editing, registering and publishing the federal statutory regulations in Part II of the Canada Gazette; the Cabinet Section dealing with secretarial work for the Cabinet and for Cabinet committees and interdepartmental committees, such as the preparation and circulation of agenda and necessary documents to Ministers and recording and circulating decisions, liaison with departments and agencies of government, and the preparation of material for the Prime Minister; and the Office of the Prime Minister organized as a Secretariat with officers responsible for general secretarial duties, the drafting of letters, the arrangement of appointments to interview the Prime Minister or for his public appearances or for the release of his statements on matters of public interest, and assisting the Prime Minister in his parliamentary duties.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (RSC 1952, c. 222) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed on official records of the Government and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs. The Archives operates a large Records Centre which provides accommodation for departmental records that are seldom used and also serves as a sorting centre, preserving papers of long-term interest from obsolete files and marking useless material for destruction. The Government's Central Microfilm Unit is housed in the Records Centre.

Under the terms of the Laurier House Act (RSC 1952, c. 163) the Public Archives is responsible for the administration of Laurier House as a museum and study centre.

Department of Public Works.—The Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act and other Acts of Parliament. It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. Federal Government interest in the Trans-Canada Highway and the Northwest Highway System is also handled by the Department. The Department maintains district offices at key points across the country. The Branches and Divisions of the Department are: Harbours and Rivers Engineering, Building Construction, Development Engineering, Property and Building Management, Purchasing and Stores, Administrative Services, Economic Studies, Financial Services, Fire Prevention, Information Services, Legal Services and Personnel.

The Minister of Public Works is also responsible to Parliament for the National Capital Commission.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the Federal Government, was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, 1959 and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with certain provincial governments, it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. The Force is controlled and administered by the Minister of Justice.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Secretary of State and Registrar General of Canada is the official medium of communication with the Throne through the Governor General,